$signeyesWho doesn’t love to think about what they’d do if they won the lottery?

My sister’s boyfriend Corey is practically religious in how he plays the lottery. As we were driving home from our New Year’s party, he was saying how it’d be such a great way to ring in the new year by winning the lottery. Haha, I think that’s how everyone would want to do it…

And so we got to talking about what we’d do with the money if we won. Pretty much everyone in my family has this dream of living “off the grid”, and it turns out Corey is no different. Get an acreage, some windmills & solar panels, grow your own food, be completely self-sufficient. Haha, he’ll fit in well with the family.

I, too, would love to live off the grid. The Man won’t be controlling MY food supplies and energy forever, no siree. But I had a conundrum to face- this kind of plan really works best if you’re living on a farm or acreage, and I’m a city girl through & through. I like to be at the centre of things 🙂 So I was trying to think of a way around this and came up with what I think is possibly the coolest way to be self-sufficient and still live in the city.

If I won the lottery, I’d become a feudal lord.

Think about it. It’d be so easy. You buy a few farms, get stuff set up, & then let people live there & keep a cut of the produce/farm profits in exchange for working the land & maintaining the place. Then I get my food & energy supplied from land & resources I personally own, but can still live in the city. It really is a genius system.

Not to mention that being a feudal lord in 21st century Canada sounds pretty awesome, doesn’t it?

I like to think that I’d be a beneficent overlord in that I’d be helping people who love farming to do it without having to pay their own setup costs. Also, especially if you’re part of a couple, it’s a pretty sweet deal to have free rent and a small income from it while your spouse goes out & gets a regular job.

Yeah, that sounds awesome.

